Shlohmo Announces 'Dark Red' LP, Shares New Track

Shlohmo Announces 'Dark Red' LP, Shares New Track
Coming off of Shlohmo's recent announcement that he'd signed to True Panther Sounds, the electronic music figure has detailed his debut for the imprint. The label drops Dark Red on April 7 in conjunction with Shlohmo's Wedidit imprint.

A press release notes that while Shlohmo has previously partnered up with artists like Jeremih, his latest project veers away from glossy, contemporary R&B production and instead works with "naturally damaged sounds." Apparently using fuzz-heavy sounds and distortion, the sonic palette of the set is said to be as extreme as an early black metal recording.

"The only thing I did know going into it, was that I wanted this one to be loud, and not just loud but really really fucking loud," the producer explained in a statement. "I wanted the sound of the thing to be devastating and violent. Recordings that force you to feel something even if that something isn't good. I'm proud to have made something polarizing, a record that's strong and undeniable even in its moments of pure anxiety and confusion. It's tragic and painful at times, but that's all part of it and I want that to be heard and felt. You don't have to like it, just listen to it."

The album is the product of two and a half years of work, with Shlohmo having constructed a small studio in his Los Angeles apartment to track the 11-song cycle. The studio setup used various pieces of '80s-era gear that he got from his dad. Thematically, the album is said to be quite personal, weighing in on friends who had passed away or who were suffering health problems.

The album includes Shlohmo's recent "Emerge from Smoke" single. Down below, you'll find a stream of the set's newly shared "Buried," as well as the record's full tracklisting.

As previously reported, Shlohmo will be touring North America this spring, with upcoming Canadian appearances schedule in Montreal and Toronto in April. You'll find all of his travel plans here.

Dark Red:

1. Ten Days of Falling

2. Meet Ur Maker

3. Buried

4. Emerge From Smoke

5. Slow Descent

6. Apathy

7. Relentless

8. Ditch

9. Remains

10. Fading

11. Beams