The Sidekicks Sign to Epitaph for 'Runners in the Nerved World'

The Sidekicks Sign to Epitaph for 'Runners in the Nerved World'
Columbus, OH's the Sidekicks have revealed plans to follow up 2012's Exclaim!-favourited Awkward Breeds LP with a new full-length called Runners in the Nerved World. The band's fourth full-length arrives January 20 via new label home Epitaph Records.

The Ohioan outfit trekked out west to record the album in Seattle with producer Phil Ek (the Shins, the Walkmen, Fleet Foxes). A press release explains that the album was crafted over the course of six weeks, with the LP described as "a collection of songs about the need to move forward, packed with buoyant melodies and razor-sharp hooks."

  "At its core, Runners in the Nerved World is about getting past the excitement of growing up and finding new ways to simulate that movement," vocalist/guitarist Steve Ciolek said in a statement. "The point the record is supposed to make is that it's often pretty arbitrary how that movement is simulated. Regardless of the situation, inevitably the characters in these songs just get stuck in those cycles. The record tries to deconstruct that inertia — that constant motivation to run."

Down below, you'll find a tracklisting for the album, as well as a stream of the '90s alt-rock-leaning sounds of first single "Deer."

The Sidekicks' last two albums had been delivered through Red Scare Industries, while 2007's debut effort So Long, Soggy Dog was issued on CD independently before being repressed on vinyl by Red Scare in 2009.

Runners in the Nerved World:

1. Hell Is Warm

2. Everything in Twos

3. Jesus Christ Supermalls

4. The Kid Who Broke His Wrist

5. Pet

6. Blissfield, MI

7. Deer

8. Summer Brings You Closer to Satan

9. Century Schoolbook Grown-Ups

10. Satellite Words and Me

11. Spinning Seat

12. All Things Run